District Councils

There are 16 Councils at the District level of the New Zealand Māori Council. They are listed below.​


District Councils


Primarily covering the rohe of Taranaki. Which spreads to the base of Ruapehu and down the Whanganui river.


The Distirct rohe includes the fertile Hauraki plains and the lush Coromandel Peninsula.


Commonly known as the king country, Covers the west coast from Mokau to Kawhia and across to include towns such as otorohanga, Te Kuiti and Bennydale

This District borders Te Tairawhiti, Tauranga Moana and Te Arawa districts and includes Opotiki and Whakatane.
Centred in Fielding and spreads from otaki, through New Plymouth and up to the Central Plateau.
Takitimu covers one of the larger north island Districts. It includes the cities of Masterton, Napier, Hastings and the many other towns and communities on the east coast.

Tauranga Moana

Tauranga Moana covers the Northern Bay of Plenty cities and towns up to the begining of the Hauraki District and across to the Waikato District.

Te Tai Tokerau

Encompassing the top of the north island frm above the Tamaki Makaurau district.

Te Tai Rawhiti

Gisborne is the jewel of the coast and is the centre of this district.It contuines around the coast and around the tip of cape Runaway.

Tamaki ki te Tonga

This District is often referred to as South Auckland and generally covers the northern most area of Tainui.

Tamaki Makaurau

The Tamaki Makaurau Area covers from the Tamaki Ki te Tonga boundary up to Helensville & Orewa.

Te Arawa

Boasting Rotorua as the geothermal center and Tourist capital of New Zealand while representing one of the largest Māori populations in the country.

Te Tau Ihu

Te Tau Ihu District covers the top of the South Island(Te Waipounamu) representing Māori communities from Motueka through to Blenheim and includes the beautiful golden bay and Marlborough sounds.

Te Waipounamu

The rohe of Te Waipounamu District spans the south island approx from Rakiura to Kaikoura and across to Karamea.


The Mighty Waikato District Maori counil is centred around the river & Hamilton wile reacing up to the Bomaby hills.


Wellington District covers from the Rimutaka ranges, along the Akatarawa forest through to Peka Peka on the Kapiti coast.

Close Search Window